Flash fiction challenge

This post is part of the Flash Fiction Challenge set by Reality in Progress.

The prompt is:

  • Topic – A Misunderstanding
  • Word count – 214
  • Mood – Hecticity
  • Genre – Comedy

My worst gig ever.

There was this festival a few years back, can’t remember what it was called, somewhere up in Yorkshire, in a wood. There had been a misunderstanding and the organisers had thought I was a musician rather than a comic, but I was there anyway, so I might as well go on, and I needed the money.

Stand up never goes down well at music festivals and I was uncharacteristically  nervous. I was on after a band called ‘Crowbar Abortion’  and everyone was very drunk. The crowd hated me and started booing and throwing things at me. Then this bloke climbed up onto the stage, told a joke of his own that offended everybody, and then pulled down his pants and started to pleasure himself. Except he couldn’t get an erection, so he stood there tugging away at his flaccid member and getting a lot more laughs than I was.

Next, this woman, who for some reason was dressed as an aardvark, she’d been dressed like that all day, jumped up on stage, rugby tackled him and started slapping him around the face. This didn’t stop him though, quite the opposite and he  continued to merrily toss himself off as she beat him up. All the while I was still trying to perform my act.

10 responses

  1. Heh! Sounds like a fun day 😛

    12.04.05 at 20.48

  2. Out of all your posts this is the weirdest one ever… Funny too 😉

    12.04.05 at 10.52

    • the weirdest thing about it is that it actually happened

      12.04.05 at 10.54

  3. Disturbing…I’m probably going to have nightmares about this one… 🙂

    12.04.05 at 00.43

    • if i can inspire nightmares then i think i have done a good job
      nightmares, like stories, can be woken up from
      have a wonderful, free, and delightful day 🙂

      12.04.05 at 00.49

      • Excellent point! I will. Thank you!

        12.04.05 at 00.50

  4. Oh geez haah too much dude!

    12.04.04 at 21.26

    • of course – as always – you should have a go at the challenge – its a nice idea and you’d be good

      12.04.04 at 21.40

      • I don’t do well with prompts, especially ones with word count haah Nice job on yours though dude!

        12.04.05 at 11.23

        • i don’t normally – but this one seemed like fun
          thanks buddy

          12.04.05 at 11.27

ask me anything

