Tales of a Chugger

chugger:  (noun)  chug-er. Shortening of charity and mugger. A street fundraiser. A person who stands on the sidewalk and asks passers by to donate small amounts of money, on a regular basis, to charity.

I loved being a chugger. It was the best day job I ever had. I felt more like a soldier than when I was a soldier. It had a Robin Hood feel to it, to some we were outlaws, to others heroes. I liked being outside in all weathers, I loved chugging in the rain. I liked the pressure and the competitive nature of what we did, and I definitely liked it that most people didn’t like us.

“You’re just all fucking parasites!” a suit said to me on Wardour Street.
“If you fancy me Sir, just say so.”
“Where’s your team leader?”
“Standing right in front of you Sir.”
*looks me up and down, stares at my mohawk, shakes head and walks away*

It didn’t matter that most people didn’t get us, you only had to get three or four people to fall in love with you a day. That’s how it worked though, it wasn’t about the charity, it was all about the chemistry between you and the donor (we refered to them as ‘units’). It was us they bought, not the charity. Honestly, if the magic was there, they would have signed up for “Nuke the Dolphins”.

4 responses

  1. Pingback: Homepage

  2. Great post, Merrifield. 😛 (Please don’t kill me.)

    Somehow I always thought a chugger would be a person who could finish a beer very very fast. Hmm.

    12.04.05 at 20.46

  3. talesfromthelou

    Fuck the sheeple, they’re used to it…

    12.04.04 at 16.25

    • sheeple! oh, i love it 🙂

      12.04.05 at 10.51

ask me anything

