The voice of a dead man

When my friend Maxwell died, I called his wife to say how sorry I was. She was not there and, furthermore had not changed his answer-phone message. I heard the voice of a dead man.

Hello,” he began, “this is Maxwell, I am busy right now“,
‘Well, not really.’ I thought.
“and cannot get to the phone.” he continued.
‘Well, that’s understandable.’ I supposed.
Please leave a message, and I’ll get back to you.
‘Will you now?’ I wondered. ‘I don’t think I’ll leave a message then.’

5 responses

  1. thank you for your kind words subhan, i have visited you blog and think it is wonderful
    kyle

    12.04.23 at 11.29

  2. That’s funny, in a dark way. It’s good somehow when people can find death funny (although, not too funny).

    12.04.22 at 13.52

    • thanks – you should read/listen to my first radio play, entrance of the gladiators, it was a comedy about suicide lol
      thanks for your comment, it was appreciated – you will find plenty of jokes about death here and when i die i hope you will laugh

      12.05.02 at 22.03

  3. You never know….

    12.04.22 at 13.31

    • i guess you don’t….

      12.04.22 at 15.07

ask me anything

