Poke

She was my best Faecbook buddy. We’d chat for hours and play silly games, like pick a music genre and then pop off to You Tube and smother our own and each other’s walls with music. Sometimes we’d find some banal or bigotted discussion thread and just bombard it with surreal comments.

When she had her internet cut off, I was lost. I didn’t know what to do, so I dug out some envelopes, stamps and a pad of paper and posted her a letter. I didn’t know what to say, so I wrote “Kyle poked you.”

10 responses

  1. I have poke tennis games going on with strangers. It’s my latent “I wanna be a whore but I’m just a nice person” side gleaming through the wreckage. I’m always glad to share the aftermath with you my friend Kyle. My Very Favorite Kyle!

    Bisous,
    Dawn

    12.05.27 at 09.05

    • ah – here we call them poke wars and in australia, poke fests.
      always good to share my very favourite dawn

      12.05.27 at 10.18

  2. gypsy116

    🙂

    12.05.26 at 19.31

  3. I’m glad to see people who can still write.

    12.05.26 at 15.44

    • its a dying art tom

      12.05.26 at 16.26

  4. Isn’t it funny how we find those connections? How we want to keep them? Then when they’re cut off we’re so lost. It’s like missing the green dot next to the person’s face in Facebook chat. You wish it was there, but it isn’t. You keep hoping to see it, but it’s gone. And may never, ever come back. Keep up that connection Kyle, even if you have to write longhand. There’s beauty in that connection…..

    12.05.26 at 15.34

    • her icon still appears in my sidebar, its like a ghost – yeah we are gonna stay friends, even if i have to write longhand (whatever that is), even if i have to get on a plane

      12.05.26 at 15.38

      • Longhand means putting pen to paper. And Kyle get on a plane. Seriously. Life is short. Enjoy every minute of it. Sigh.

        12.05.26 at 15.40

ask me anything

